The Database Home Page
<< Le Stagioni, op. 48To the IndexLe Tombeau de Ravel; valse-caprices >>
Le Tombeau de Couperin

Ravel,Maurice (1875-1937)
Sex  Male
Publisher  Durand
Inst.  [5] Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in Bb, Bassoon, Horn
Comments  Excellent arrangement of 4 of the 6 original Piano pieces, done by the former principal horn of the Philadelphia Orchestra. Second movement is the "Fugue" omitted from the orchestra version. Others will be familiar to orchestra musicians and audiences. Oboe part to the Prelude is great for practicing for auditions. I think it's one of the finest arrangements ever made for woodwind quintet. We've done the entire work for formal recitals and excerpts for educational Pairs well with the Debussy Suite No. 2.

Prepared on Thu Apr 30 20:22:45 2009