Advertising and Web Hosting on Woodwind.Org!

Klarinet Archive - Posting 000168.txt from 2008/05

From: "David Blumberg" <>
Subj: [kl] New Clarinet Concerto with Jamie Morales Conducting
Date: Tue, 27 May 2008 11:53:24 -0400

Rick sent this to me -and asked if I would spread the word about his new

There you can hear the premiere performance of my new Concerto for Clarinet
and Orchestra, premiered in Cincinnati just over a month ago
by Angelo Santoro (the clarinetist for whom it was written) and a fine
community orchestra, the Clermont Philharmonic with Jamie Morales Matos
(yes, Ricardo's brother) Conducting. You can download the solo clarinet part
from that same page.
This concerto is perhaps my most ambitious composition to date. I put my
whole heart into writing it. I tried to fashion a concerto
that could stand toe-to-toe with the Copland and Finzi concertos,
ie., tonal, melodic, architecturally strong and, most importantly,
satisfying to play and to hear. I am very pleased with the results
and with this performance.

The Clarinetist is ok, not great but it's a pretty nice work!
Brief bit about Rick:

Rick claims to be the only American composer of classical music ever
elected to a public office â?" he served four years as a County
Commissioner in his native Richland County, Ohio. Unlike most composers,
Sowash has not sought an academic or commercial career in music. Following
the example of Charles Ives, Sowash chose to retain his art as a passionate
avocation, earning most of his living in non-musical ways. He has been a
politician, theatre manager, radio broadcaster, and innkeeper. He is the
author of two books: Rispsnorting Whoppers: Humor from Americaâ?Ts Heartland
and Heroes of Ohio: 23 True Tales of Courage and Character. He is a member
of ASCAP, both as a composer and publisher. Many of his 200+ works are
published, performed and broadcast around the world. Today Sowash lives in
Cincinnati with his wife Jo (whom he wed in 1972), their daughter Shenandoah
and son John Chapman.

David Blumberg -


     Copyright © Woodwind.Org, Inc. All Rights Reserved    Privacy Policy    Contact