Advertising and Web Hosting on Woodwind.Org!

Klarinet Archive - Posting 000304.txt from 2001/05

From: "Chris Zello" <>
Subj: Re: [kl] William O. Smith work
Date: Thu, 10 May 2001 23:57:56 -0400

The first movement starts out with 8 sixteenths, and then a sustained throat
B-flat, then another flourish of sixteenths, and a sustained throat B-flat.
There is a middle section, and then a return to a bunch of flourishes.

The second movement is slow, with sustained notes. Rather short.

The third movement, has a bunch of leaps, and seemingly rhymthmic "games."
A lot of contrasting dynamics in the leaps, ff down low, and then pp up
high. . .

The fourth movement seems to be more of desolate character. Some
fluttertonguing. Lyrical, but not tonal in general.

The final movement, has some really high stuff in it, and near the end, one
extremely high trill.

The whole piece is a little less than 5 minutes, and the movements are very
much connected, without large pauses.

I already own the music for "Five Pieces," by Smith, but this isn't another
work of his. What I've described above is the piece I'm looking for, BUT I
don't have the music for it.

As for his "Fragments," were those the pieces where you take your clarinet
apart, and play with two mouthpieces: one in the barrel and the other in
the middle joint? If that is it, this definitely is not the work I
heard/described above. . .

Any other thoughts?

>From: Anne Bell <>
>Subject: Re: [kl] William O. Smith work
>Date: Thu, 10 May 2001 18:27:57 -0400
>Chris- can you describe the piece that you heard? There is a "5 Fragments
>for Double Clarinet" and at least one other piece consists of 5
>Happy Hunting,
>Anne Bell
>Bayside HS Orchestra Director
>Unsubscribe from Klarinet, e-mail:
>Subscribe to the Digest:
>Additional commands:
>Other problems:

Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at

Unsubscribe from Klarinet, e-mail:
Subscribe to the Digest:
Additional commands:
Other problems:

     Copyright © Woodwind.Org, Inc. All Rights Reserved    Privacy Policy    Contact