Advertising and Web Hosting on Woodwind.Org!

Klarinet Archive - Posting 000394.txt from 2000/09

From: Oliver Seely <>
Subj: [kl] Rimsky-Korsakov's Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Orchestra
Date: Mon, 11 Sep 2000 15:48:40 -0400

The Rimsky-Korsakov concerto is ready for downloading and your playing
pleasure. I played the World Premier Karaoke performance this evening and
it is quite pleasant. Not a lot of tricky stuff in any of the movements,
but certainly an important addition to the clarinet literature, and GREAT
for those of us in community bands.

This time around I did the whole job: notes, articulation and dynamics,
more as an exercise than anything else. It occurred to me as I was
finishing up the ninth of thirteen Krommer Partitas (I haven't released
that one yet -- there is a very challenging series of 16th sextuplet runs
in the third movement which I want to get up to about 75% speed before I
give it to all you folks) that what with all wind instruments (or almost
all) in his partitas playing different things at any one time, a completely
orchestrated concerto with articulation and dynamics included ought
actually to be a bit simpler because most concertos have accompaniments
with (1) lots of empty measures for many of the instruments and (2) the
accompanying thread is often repeated from instrument to instrument and one
can do a lot of copying and pasting between staves with minor ajustments of
mass-transposition (thirds, fourths and octaves, mainly).

Anyway, you can download it and extract all the parts for free, or buy the
complete edition from me at a typically larcenous price 8-) but remember,
if you download it and extract all the parts you have every right to
copyright the new presentation yourself under whatever conditions you wish
to establish (for that presentation, in any case -- the music itself is in
the public domain). It would be kind of nice, come to think of it, if just
one of you were to write back and say that my line under the title, "This
modern edition was prepared for the members of the Huntington Beach Concert
Band, Huntington Beach, CA" had been removed and replaced by "This modern
edition was made possible by a grant from the John D. and Catherine T.
MacArthur Foundation." I'd be green with envy! Think also of the
possibility, if you are still a student, of downloading it, extracting the
parts, putting your copyright statement at the bottom and offering it to
your high school band's music library, and then 50 years from now going
back to a reunion and finding your edition still in the music library. Ah,
immortality. What a thought!

Happy playing,all!

My Web page address for you newcomers is


Unsubscribe from Klarinet, e-mail:
Subscribe to the Digest:
Additional commands:
Other problems:

     Copyright © Woodwind.Org, Inc. All Rights Reserved    Privacy Policy    Contact