Advertising and Web Hosting on Woodwind.Org!

Klarinet Archive - Posting 000505.txt from 1998/04

From: "Jay E. Niepoetter" <>
Subj: Maslanka
Date: Fri, 10 Apr 1998 10:07:15 -0400

>In today's (4/7) New York Times, Matthew Mirapaul previews
>a new concerto by David Maslanka, which will premiere "on
>Tuesday evening in six different locations, played simultaneously
>but independently by six different ensembles. Five of the
>performances will be available over the Internet." The 32-minute
>work, titled "Sea Dreams," is written for two horns and orchestra
>and was jointly commissioned by 10 schools "at the behest of
>the hornist Thomas Bacon, a professor of music at Arizona State
>University." Mirapaul reports that "streaming audio will be transmitted
>live over the Internet?with online visitors able to switch between
>the broadcasts. The cybercasts also will be archived on the Web
>for a month so that interested listeners can compare interpretations."
>Bacon, who arranged for the cybercasts because he recognized the
>Internet's ability to reach a wider audience, was quoted as saying,
>"I thought, 'What the heck, let's send it to the world.'"

>Tuesday's (4/7) Chicago Tribune reports on composer David
>Maslanka's Internet concerto, "Sea Dreams" for two horns and
>wind orchestra. Anyone with access to the web could "attend"
>the premiere that was cybercast to five different locations around
>the U.S. The wire service also reports that "the simultaneous
>premiere is believed to be the first of its kind in classical music."

     Copyright © Woodwind.Org, Inc. All Rights Reserved    Privacy Policy    Contact