Advertising and Web Hosting on Woodwind.Org!

Klarinet Archive - Posting 000375.txt from 1998/03

From: Nicholas Yuk Sing Yip <nyip@-----.edu>
Subj: Fw: SCAM (fwd)
Date: Fri, 6 Mar 1998 14:43:58 -0500

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Thu, 5 Mar 1998 21:15:58 -0600
From: Kevin E. Brown <wolvrine@-----.net>
Turner <meboba@-----.com>,
Travis Jones <trjones@-----.net>,
Tony <handrum914@-----.com>,
Tom Jones <tjones@-----.com>,
Tim Byrne <tsbjazz@-----.net>,
Pat Messinger <deanmess@-----.net>,
Michelle Coyner <bcoyner@-----.com>,
Lori Adams <ljadams@-----.edu>,
"Kevin E. Brown" <wolvrine@-----.com>,
Jim Reckard <faust23@-----.edu>,
Idelle Dollison <dollison@-----.edu>,
Elizabeth Johnson <elizabeth-johnson-1@-----.edu>,
"Dr. Eunice Boardman" <eboardma@-----.edu>,
"Dr. Barrington Coleman" <coleman3@-----.edu>,
dody Cosmedy <Dody.Cosmedy@-----.com>,
Debbie Washburn <washburn@-----.com>,
Debbie Melzer <calumcdebbie@-----.com>,
Curt Dunne <CurtDunne@-----.net>,
Cathy Haab <calumccathie@-----.com>,
Bob Jones <r.e.jones@-----.com>,
Anne Haab <amhaab@-----.com>,
Amy at SCHOOL <ahamra@-----.com>,
Adam Lane <adamology@-----.com>
Subject: Fw: SCAM

-----Original Message-----
From: Patricia L Hansen <pat10@-----.com>
Date: Thursday, March 05, 1998 7:55 PM
Subject: SCAM

>
>
>
>
>I received a telephone call from an individual identifying himself as an
>AT&T Service Technician that was running a test on our telephone lines.
>He stated that to complete the test I should touch nine (9), zero (0),
>pound sign (#) and hang up. Luckily, I was suspicious and refused.
>
>Upon contacting the telephone company we were informed that by pushing
>90#
>you end up giving the individual that called you access to your telephone
>line and allows them to place a long distance telephone call, with the
>charge appearing on your telephone bill. We were further informed that
>this
>scam has been originating from many of the local jails/prisons. Please
>"pass the word".
>
>George Fousek
>AT&T Global Account Director
>4 Station Square Suite 400
>Pittsburgh, PA 15219
>412-642-7023 (voice)
>412-642-7119 (fax)
>
>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
>Joanne O. Lee
>Administrative Secretary II
>University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
>Department of Nutrition
>2212 McGavran-Greenberg
>Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400
>919-966-7218 OFC
>919-966-7216 FAX
>Email: jlee@-----.edu
>http://www.sph.unc.edu/nutr/
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>---1744692862-1548342045-889065827=:395326--
>
>--------- End forwarded message ----------
>
>You don't need to buy Internet access to use free Internet e-mail.
>Get completely free e-mail from Juno at http://www.juno.com
>Or call Juno at (800) 654-JUNO [654-5866]
>

   
     Copyright © Woodwind.Org, Inc. All Rights Reserved    Privacy Policy    Contact charette@woodwind.org