Advertising and Web Hosting on Woodwind.Org!

Klarinet Archive - Posting 000279.txt from 1995/01

From: "David A. GILMAN" <DAGILMAN@-----.EDU>
Subj: Advice for the Inexperienced Player
Date: Thu, 19 Jan 1995 17:38:14 -0500

One of the finest intermediate level pieces I've played is the
Concerto in G Minor by Handel. It is a transcription of an oboe concerto in
4 movements, all of which are absolutely wonderful to play. The piece works
very well on the clarinet, and the range goes only to high D (d'''). There
are some sixteenth note runs to make it challenging, and the second slow
movement (Sarabande) is very simple yet supremely beautiful when played with
great expression. I have the edition published by Rubank, arr. H. Voxman; I
think Southern Music publishes another.
Good hunting!
David Gilman

     Copyright © Woodwind.Org, Inc. All Rights Reserved    Privacy Policy    Contact