Doublereed Archive - Posting 000001.txt from 2006/05
From: "Geoff Pearce" <oboist2@-----.au> Subj: [DR-L] Be Wary of Scams Date: Tue, 02 May 2006 05:03:22 -0400
I am currently trying to sell my oboe on the classifieds associated with
this list. Folks, please be very careful if you do the same. I have had
one quite elaborate scammer try to get his hands on my money and/or
instrument. What he does is contacts me and asks to see pics, and says he
is acting on behalf of a client. He then was stupid enough to thank me for
sending the pictures through before I did, then wanted details as to where
to send a cheque. I said that there was no way I would send the instrument
until a cheque had cleared. He said that was OK and I duly supplied him
with further information. He told me that all this was being taken care
of, and that I would get a cheque to cover the cost of the instrument as
well as the postage and handling. What he required of me was to deduct the
cost of the shipping and handling from my asking price, wire that to his
agent, BEFORE the cheque was cleared!!!!!! Yeah, right!!!!
I then said that I would not be forwarding any money until it was totally
cleared, and asked him why mot an electronic transfer - he didn't want
that (or his client didn't), and then asked why did I just not give the
cheque to a service station (Gas station) or Supermarket. At this point I
said that I would not sell to him under those conditions, and that it was a
transfer or nothing.
The guy said he was from Germany - his language was more like that of a
very badly educated teen who had grown up on comics, and certainly not to
the standard I would expect from an "agent"
My Home phone is +61 2 9754 1655 or mobile for emergencies is 0410 308 582 and my homepage is: http://home.iprimus.com.au/oboist2 I am also oboist45 in Yahoo Messenger or 11654901 in ICQ. Please Note and view our business - http://rgbdesign.net.au If you are interested in having a website done, we would love to hear from you
---------------------------------------------------------------------
For personal help: email doublereed-owner@-----.org
Doublereed is a service of Woodwind.Org, Inc. http://www.woodwind.org
|
|
 |